Cannes Film Festival 2013

2013 cannes film festival pPlume Noire was at the the 66th edition of the Cannes Film Festival from May 15th to May 26th in Cannes, France.

Read our exclusive movie reviews below  and check out our festival blog.

Headed by Hollywood director Steven Spielberg (Lincoln), the 2013 Cannes jury included Australian actress Nicole Kidman (The Paperboy), Austrian actor Christopher Waltz (Django Unchained), French actor Daniel Auteuil (Caché), Indian actress Vidya Balan (Kahaani), Taiwanese filmmaker Ang Lee (Life of Pi), Japanese director Naomi Kawase (Hanezu), Romanian director Christian Mungiu (Beyond the Hills) and British filmmaker Lynne Ramsay (We Need to Talk About Kevin ).

Danish filmmaker Thomas Vinterberg (The Hunt) was the president of the jury for Certain Regard.

The official poster (on the right) features actors – husband and wife – Paul Newman and Joanne Woodward.

The French actress Audrey Tautou (Amelie) was the Mistress of Ceremonies, hosting both the opening and closing ceremonies.


Official Competition

Palme d’OrBlue is the Warmest Colour
Grand PrixInside Llewyn Davis, Joel and Ethan Coen, U.S.
Jury PrizeLike Father Like Son, Hirokazu Koreeda, Japan
Best Director: Amat Escalante, Heli, Mexico
Best Screenplay: Jia Zhangke, A Touch of Sin, China
Best Actor: Bruce Dern, Nebraska, U.S.
Best Actress: Bérénice Bejo, The Past, France

Certain Regard

Certain Regard Prize: The Missing Picture
Certain Regard Jury PrizeOmar
Certain Regard Best DirectionStranger by the Lake
Certain Talent AwardThe Golden Dream

Critics Week

Grand Jury PrizeSalvo
France 4 Visionary AwardSalvo
Best Screenplay: The Dismantlement
Discovery Award Short: Come and Play
Canal+ Award: Pleasure

Directors’ Fortnight

Art Cinema Award: Me, Myself and Mum
Special Mention: Tip Top


First Prize: Needle
Second Prize: Waiting for the Thaw
Third Prize ex-aequo: In Acvariu, Unatc
Joint Third Prize: Pandy, Famu

Here is the full line-up:


Behind the Candelabra (review)- Steven Soderbergh
Blue is the Warmest Color (review) – Abdellatif Kechiche
Borgman (review) – Alex Van Warmerdam
Grisgris – Mahamat-Saleh Haroun
Heli (review) – Amat Escalante
Inside Llewyn Davis – Joel and Ethan Coen
Jimmy P – Arnaud Desplechin
Like Father Like Son (review) – Kore-Eda Hirokazu
Michael Kohlhaas – Arnaud des Pallières
Nebraska – Alexander Payne
Only God Forgives (review) – Nicolas Winding Refn
Straw Shield – Takashi Miike
The Great Beauty – Paolo Sorrentino
The Immigrant – James Gray
The Past (review) – Asghar Farhadi
Tian Zhu Ding – Zhangke Jia
Un Chateau en Italie – Valeria Bruni-Tedeschi
Venus in Fur – Roman Polanski
Young and Beautiful review) – Francois Ozon


The Great Gatsby 3D (review) – Baz Luhrmann


Zulu – Jérôme Salle


Blood Ties – Guillaume Canet
All is Lost – J.C. Chandor


Blind Detective – Johnnie To
Monsoon Shootout – Amit Kumar


Max Rose – Daniel Noah
Muhammad Ali’s Greatest Fight – Stephen Frears
Otdat Konci – Taisia Igumentseva
Seduced and Abandoned – James Toback
Stop the Pounding Heart – Roberto Minervini
Weekend of a Champion – Roman Polanski


Anonymous – Mohammad Rasoulof
As I Lay Dying – James Franco
Bends – Flora Lau
Death March – Adolfo Alix Jr.
Fruitvale Station – Ryan Coogler
Grand Central – Rebecca Zlotowski
La Jaula de Oro (review) – Diego Quemada-Diez
Les Salauds – Claire Denis
The Missing Picture (review)- Rithy Panh
Norte, Hangganan Ng Kasaysayan – Lav Diaz
Omar – Hany Abu-Assad
Sarah Prefere La Course – Chloe Robichaud
Stranger By The Lake (review) –Alain Guiraudie 
The Bling Ring (review) – Sofia Coppola


Ain’t Them Bodies Saints (review) – David Lowery
For Those in Peril – Paul Wright
Les Rencontres d’après minuit – Yann Gonzalez
Los Dueños – Agustin Toscano & Ezequiel Radusky
Nos héros sont morts ce soir – David Perrault
Salvo – Fabio Grassadonia & Antonio Piazza
Suzanne – Katell Quillévéré
The Dismantlement – Sébastien Pilote
The Lunchbox – Dabba Ritesh Batra
The Major – Yury Bykov


A Strange Course of Events – Raphaël Nadjari
El Verano de los Peces Voladores – Marcela Said
Ate Ver a Luz – Basil Da Cunha
Blue Ruin – Jeremy Saulnier
Henri – Yolande Moreau
Ilo Ilo – Anthony Chen
Jodorowsky’s Dune – Frank Pavich
Last Days on Mars – Ruairi Robinson
L’Escale – Kaveh Bakhtiari
La Danza de la Realidad – Alejandro Jodorowsky
La Fille du 14 Juillet – Antonin Peretjatko
Les Apaches – Thierry de Peretti
Les Garçons et Guillaume, à Table! – Guillaume Gallienne
Magic Magic – Sebastian Silva
On the Job – Erik Matti
The Congress – Ari Folman (opening film)
The Selfish Giant – Clio Barnard
Tip Top – Serge Bozon
Ugly – Anurag Kashyap
Un Voyageur – Marcel Ophuls
We Are What We Are – Jim Mickle


After The Winter – Jow Zhi Wei
Asuncion – Camila Luna Toledo
Babaga – Gan De Lang
Danse Macabre – Małgorzata Rzanek
Duet – Navid Danesh
Exile – Vladilen Vierny
Fable Of A Blood-Drained Girl – Alejandro Iglesias Mendizabal
Going South – Jefferson Moneo
Ham Story – Eliška Chytkova
In The Fishbowl – Tudor Cristian Jurgiu
Needle – Anahita Ghazvinizadeh
Pandas – Matúš Vizar
Stepsister – Joey Izzo
The Line – Kim Soo-Jin
The Magnificent Lion Boy – Ana Caro
The Norm Of Life – Evgeny Byalo
Tomorrow All The Things – Sebastián Schjaer
Waiting For The Thaw – Sarah Hiritt


37°4 S – Adriano Valerio
Condom Lead – Mohammed Abou Nasser, Ahmad Abou Nasser
Mont Blanc – Gilles Coulier
More Than Two Hours – Ali Asgari
Olena – Elzbieta Benkowska
Ophelia – Annarita Zambrano
Safe – Moon Byounggon
The Meteorite And Impotence – Sasaki Omoi
Whale Valley – Gudmundur Arnar Gudmundsson


The following two tabs change content below.
Moland Fengkov

Moland Fengkov

Based in Paris, Moland is a journalist and photographer; He is more particularly responsible for covering the Cannes film festival for Plume Noire, writing movie reviews and taking gorgeous pictures.
Moland Fengkov

Latest posts by Moland Fengkov (see all)